NDIS Registered Provider in Queensland


The 5 W’s of NDIS: Everything You Need to Know!

NDIS 5 W's

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is a vital support system designed to empower individuals living with disabilities in Australia. As a person on Australian land, you need to know about the most generous and supportive government scheme that supports the disabilities of various kinds. From covering the medical expenses, assistive devices, to household tasks management, you will be able to utilise the NDIS fund, if you have one or the other disability. On the other hand, this information might be helpful to your friends, or family members who have not applied for NDIS participation or are planning to do so.

If you’re interested in learning more about NDIS, it’s essential to understand the five W’s – Who, What, When, Where, and Why

These 5 aspects would help you get a clear picture of the National Disability Insurance Scheme.


NDIS is for individuals living with a permanent and significant disability that impacts their ability to participate fully in everyday life. This scheme is not limited by age, meaning children, young adults, and seniors can all benefit from NDIS support.


The NDIS provides funding to eligible participants to access necessary support and services as per their individual needs. These supports can include but are not limited to:

  • Assistance with daily activities
  • Therapeutic supports
  • Mobility aids and equipment
  • Home modifications
  • Social and community participation
  • Employment support
  • Access to healthcare services

Participants work with the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) to develop a personalised plan outlining their goals, aspirations, and required support.


The rollout of NDIS varies across different regions of Australia. It’s crucial to check the rollout schedule for your area to determine when NDIS will become available to you or your loved one. Once NDIS is available in your region, you can begin the process of applying for support.


NDIS operates across all states and territories in Australia. Whether you reside in New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, or any other region, you can access NDIS support if you meet the eligibility criteria.


NDIS aims to provide individuals living with disabilities greater choice and control over their lives. By offering personalised support and services, NDIS empowers participants to achieve their goals, enhance their independence, and participate more actively in their communities. It’s about encouraging inclusion, dignity, and opportunity for all Australians living with disabilities.

Therefore, understanding the five W’s of NDIS is necessary for anyone interested in accessing support or advocating for a loved one with a disability. By knowing who NDIS is for, what it offers, when and where it’s available, and why it exists, individuals can understand the system more effectively and get the benefits of this transformative scheme.

You might be interested in

Best Therapies and Treatments for Autism in Children ...
Hepatitis: A Silent Threat for People with Disabilities...
National Diabetes Week: Supporting Our Participants with Healthy Living (NDIS & Bharosa)...

Book Appointment

Skip to content